You are here:  Top Stories  >  Domestic  >  Current Article

Probable list of Rouhani’s cabinet; Velayati mentioned as possible nuclear negotiator

Thursday, 20 June 2013

Several Iranian media outlets published a list of probable members of Hassan Rouhani’s cabinet (According to Article 133 of Constitution, cabinet ministers must be chosen by the president and proposed to the Majlis for votes of confidence.) The inauguration ceremony will be held on August 4. Rouhani had 53 days to choose his cabinet). Hamid Baqa’i, Vice President for Executive Affairs, has been assigned as the person responsible for the handover to the new government of President-Elect Hassan Rouhani. Key figures:

  • First Vice President: Mohammad Reza Aref, Mohammad Ali Najafi and Mohsen Mehralizadeh. Aref, a reformist who withdrew from the presidential race in favor of Rouhani three days before the election, has a very good chance.
  • Intelligence Minister: Hojjatoleslam Ali Younesi, Director of the Ministry of Intelligence during President Mohammad Khatami’s reformist government, and Hojjatoleslam Shafi’i, former Deputy Intelligence Minister.
  • Foreign Minister: Mahmoud Vaezi, Ali Akbar Salehi, the incumbent Foreign Minister and Sadeq Kharrazi, the former Foreign Minister in Khatami’s government.
  • Interior Minister: Majid Ansari, a reformist cleric and Eshaq Jahngiri, the Minister of Industry in Khatami’s cabinet.
  • Economic Affairs Minister: Mohammad Baqer Nowbakht, the spokesman for Rouhani’s election campaign and a member of the Strategic Research Center of the Expediency Council, which is headed by Rouhani.
  • Secretary of the Supreme National Security Council and Chief Nuclear Negotiator: Ali Akbar Velayati, the former Foreign Minister and a conservative candidate in the election.
  • Defense Minister: Hussein Dehqan, Ali Shamkhani, the Defense Minister in Khatami’s government, and Akbar Torkan.
  • Minister of Culture and Islamic Guidance: Ali Motahari, MP
  • Oil Minister: Bizhan Namdar-Zangeneh, the Oil Minister in Khatami’s government and Seyyed Kazem Vaziri-Hameneh, the first Oil Minister in President Ahmadinejad’s government.
  • Head of the Atomic Energy Organization: Ali Akbar Salehi, Gholam Reza Aqazadeh, the former head of the organization, and Hossein Fereydun.
  • President’s top adviser: Mohammad Reza Ne’matzadeh, who was the head of Rouhani’s election headquarters.
  • President’s adviser and head of his office: Hoseyn Fereydoun

    Print       Email
  • Published: 2 years ago on Thursday, 20 June 2013
  • By: Iran Daily Brief
  • Last Modified: June 20, 2013 @ 1:34 pm
  • Filed Under: Domestic
  • Tagged with:
  • Source(s):
    • http://jahannews.com/vdcawenu649noa1.k5k4.html

You might also like...


Live interview with Rouhani ready to air stopped by IRIB head

Read More →