You are here:  Top Stories  >  Domestic  >  Current Article

Changes in makeup of the Guardian Council

Friday, 12 July 2013

The Speaker of the Majlis Legal Committee, Mohammad Ali Isfanani announced the end of the term of three jurists on the Guardian Council on the anniversary of the Council’s establishment in about one week’s time: Abbas Ali Kadkhoda’i, Hussein Ali Amiri and Mohsen Esma’ili. He clarified that in the first meeting following the summer recess, the Chairman of the Judiciary will send a letter presenting the new jurists to the Majlis, and the three who secure the most votes will be appointed. He noted that the three mentioned above will be including in the list of candidates again. The Guardian Council consists of six theologians appointed by the Supreme Leader and six jurists nominated by the judiciary and approved by the Majlis. Members are elected for six years on a rotational basis, so that half the membership changes every three years.

    Print       Email
  • Published: 79 days ago on Friday, 12 July 2013
  • By: Iran Daily Brief
  • Last Modified: July 12, 2013 @ 12:48 pm
  • Filed Under: Domestic
  • Tagged with:
  • Source(s):
    • http://www.farsnews.com/newstext.php?nn=13920417000504

You might also like...

Supreme Leader pardons 88 security prisoners

Read More →