You are here:  Top Stories  >  Domestic  >  Current Article

Possible nominees in Rouhani’s cabinet

Friday, 2 August 2013

The list includes ministerial posts as well as vice presidents, advisors, head of the Atomic Energy Organization, secretary of the Supreme National Security Council, and governor of the central bank:

  • First vice president: Eshaq Jahangiri (Minister of Industries and Mines in administrations of Hashemi Rafsanjani and Mohammad Khatami)
  • Interior minister: Abdolreza Rahmani Fazil (current head of the Supreme Audit Court Chairman)
  • Oil minister: Bijan Zanganeh (Minister of Energy during the Rafsanjani administration and Minister of Oil during the Khatami administration)
  • Intelligence minister: Hojjatoleslam Mohsen Qomi
  • Economy minister: Ali Tayebnia (economics professor)
  • Agriculture minister: Mahmoud Hojati (Minister of Agriculture during Khatami’s second administration)
  • Science minister: Jafar Meili Monfared (engineering professor at Amirkabir University of Technology and former deputy science minister)
  • Foreign minister: Mohammad Javad Zarif (Iran’s former representative to the United Nations and deputy foreign minister for legal and international affairs)
  • Transport and urban development minister: Abbas Akhondi (Minister of Housing in President Rafsanjani’s cabinet)
  • Health minister: Seyyed Hassan Hashemi (ophthalmologist)
  • Communications minister: Seyyed Abolhassan Firouzabadi
  • Culture and Islamic Guidance minister: Ali Jannati (formerIran’s ambassador to Kuwait and governor of Khorasan and Khuzestan provinces)
  • Education minister: Mohammad Ali Najafi (a current Tehran city councilor, head of the Management and Planning Organization in Khatami’s administration, Minister of Education in Rafsanjani’s administration, and Minister of Science in prime minister Mir Hossein Mousavi’s administration)
  • Industries, mines and commerce minister: Mohammadreza Nematzadeh (Minister of Industries in Rafsanjani’s administration)
  • Labor Minister: Ali Rabiei (former executive director of the secretariat of the Supreme National Security Council and social advisor to president Khatami)
  • Defense minister: Hossein Dehqan (a former deputy defense minister and director of the Martyrs Foundation)
  • Minister of sports and youth affairs: Masoud Soltanifar (former governor ofGilanProvince)
  • Energy minister: Hamid Chitchian (former MP and deputy energy minister during President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad’s administration)
  • Chairman of president’s office: Hossein Fereidoun (brother of President-elect Hassan Rohani)
  • Management and Planning Organization chief: Mohammad Baqer Nobakht (head of the economic committee of the Expediency Council and former parliamentarian)
  • Supreme National Security Council secretary: Mohammad Forouzandeh (defense minister in Rafsanjani’s second administration)
  • Atomic Energy Organization of Iran (AEOI) chief: Mahmoud Va’ezi (head of the foreign policy committee of the Expediency Council)
  • Senior presidential advisor: Akbar Torkan (Minister of Defense and Transport in Rafsanjani’s administrations)
  • Central bank governor: Majid Qasemi (current chairman of Bank Pasargad and chief of the macro-economic committee of the Expediency Council)
  • Special assistant to president: Mohammad Nahavandian (the current chairman of the Iranian Chamber of Commerce)

  • Head of the presidential center for women’s affairs: Mrs. Dad-Andish


    Print       Email
  • Published: 16 days ago on Friday, 2 August 2013
  • By: Iran Daily Brief
  • Last Modified: August 2, 2013 @ 12:03 pm
  • Filed Under: Domestic
  • Tagged with:
  • Source(s):
    • http://www.tehrantimes.com/politics/109706-possible-nominees-for-rohanis-cabinet

You might also like...


Three Rouhani cabinet nominees (education, science, sport) fail to win Majlis confidence

Read More →